Hidden Sources of gluten

From Nestle’s website

Gluten is a protein found in grains including wheat, oats, barley, and rye. It’s also very commonly used in packaged foods to prevent crumbling. So in addition to the obvious sources like breads, pizza crust or pasta, you’ll find gluten in other unlikely things like licorice, soy sauce, malt vinegar, as well as many flavourings, processed foods, self-basting turkeys, cold cuts, prepared stocks and soups.

Gluten is also the binder in some pharmaceutical products, and it can be the starch listed as “unidentified food starch”, “modified food starch”, “caramel colour”, and “hydrolyzed plant or vegetable protein”. And when a label simply lists “natural flavours”, “flavour extracts” or “spice extracts”, be careful – gluten may be used in processing them.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s